Governance of the Breast Cancer Now Tissue Bank


Tissue Bank Advisory Council

The Tissue Bank Advisory Council advises on the scientific strategy of the Breast Cancer Now Tissue Bank and its implementation. The council comprises leading scientists and researchers from the breast cancer and biobanking fields worldwide, as well as bioinformaticians and patients. 

The Chair of the Tissue Bank Advisory Committee is Professor Wayne A Phillips, University of Melbourne.

To find out more about the Council, get in touch with us.

Access Committee

Our Access Committee reviews each application for samples to ensure that the samples are used for good-quality research. For each application Breast Cancer Now will ask the following questions:

  • Has the project for which samples will be used been peer-reviewed by an AMRC-registered charity or equivalent?
  • Is ethical cover in place for the work?
  • Will the application significantly deplete the Tissue Bank's sample stock?

Depending on the answers to these questions the application will receive a light-touch via our Executive Committee or a in-depth Specialist Group review. For more detail on review processes see the Tissue Access Policy in our resources section.

The Chair of the Access Committee is Dr Julia Gee, Cardiff University.

Committee members

Name Institution
Professor Andy Hanby (Deputy Chair) University of Leeds, UK
Dr Jacqueline James Queen’s University Belfast, UK
Professor Adrian Harris Oxford University, UK
Dr Nikolajs Zeps St John of God Healthcare, Australia
Dr Elizabeth Mallon University of Glasgow, UK
Dr Adrienne Morgan Independent Cancer Patients’ Voice
Dr Stephen Duffy Queen Mary University of London, UK
Professor Ingunn Holen University of Sheffield, UK
Dr Elinor Sawyer Kings College London, UK
Professor Angie Cox University of Sheffield, UK
Mairead MacKenzie Independent Cancer Patients’ Voice
Jacqui Gath Independent Cancer Patients’ Voice
Professor Graham Ball Nottingham Trent University, UK
Professor Diana Eccles University of Southampton, UK
Professor Sarah Pinder Kings College London, UK
Professor Leonie Young Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland
Dr Lesley-Ann Martin Institute of Cancer Research, UK
Professor Jacqui Shaw University of Leicester, UK
Professor Peter Schmid Queen Mary University of London, UK
Professor William Gallagher The University College Dublin, Ireland
Dr Emad Rakha University of Nottingham, UK
Dr Fedor Berdevchetski University of Birmingham, UK
Professor John Marshall Queen Mary University of London, UK
Dr Kara Britt Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre, Australia
Dr Susan Clare Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine, USA
Professor Maddy Parsons     Kings College London, UK
Dr Claire Wells Kings College London, UK
Professor Christine Watson University of Cambridge, UK
Dr Laki Buluwela Imperial College London, UK
Dr Elad Katz University of Dundee, UK
Dr Anja van de Stolpe Philips Research, The Netherlands
Professor Joy Burchell Kings College London, UK
Dr Stephen Hiscox Cardiff University, UK
Dr Luke Piggott Cardiff University, UK
Hilary Stobart Independent Cancer Patients’ Voice
Elizabeth Benns Independent Cancer Patients’ Voice
Margaret Grayson Independent Cancer Patients’ Voice